Read all our reviews on

Autumn Break

5 / 5 stars

We had the most relaxing end to our holiday at the end of September/October 2014. The owners were most helpful to us and our room had magnificent views over the Loch. Our meals were all of the highest quality especially Ray’s “Haggis Special”! When we return to Scotland,this will always be our hotel of choice.

Banbury, United Kingdom
January 2015

Lovely staff,food,location and stay!

5 / 5 stars

I brought my husband and another couple here for his 30th, the owners were so nice, they did things like gave us champagne on his birthday evening and a look around the amazing loch and islands on Raymond’s boat! Clean and comfy rooms and lovely home cooked traditional food. Will be coming back for sure and have recommended it to many people! Thank you so much for making our stay in October (10-12th) so special.. see you next year Lydia, Daniel, Megan and Richard!
Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple

Bridport, United Kingdom
28 November 2014


5 / 5 stars

Beautiful location, scenery and rooms are comfortable and cosy! Water in bathrooms comes from a highland spring which is a lovely unusual touch! Great interior design and v clean! Highly recommended as a highland retreat!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
18 October 2014

Good to see this iconic hotel open again

5 / 5 stars

Delighted to see such a famous highland hotel hotel open again. Lovely, comfortable rooms and, even at the end of season, a good level of service from them. Of course, the landscape around here is some of the finest in Europe and the relaxed, informal nature of the hotel ensures it can be enjoyed in a stress free environment. Cosy bar with wood burning stove, residents lounge and a dining room with views over the loch are all big positives. Tame deer by the loch too for photo opportunities, and so very quiet and pollution free in these parts.

Newtonmore, Scotland
13 October 2014

Loved It!

5 / 5 stars

A big thank you to Raymond and Caroline who made our one night stay enjoyable, the decor is lovely and our bed was comfortable. The food was lovely and the company we shared in the bar was thoroughly enjoyable….good chat!
This place is surrounded by stunning views, we were blown away by all Scotland has to offer the people and the country are so inviting. The Loch Maree hotel is quiet, laid back and relaxing….so settle in and relax, enjoy a pint and take in the views and fresh air.

21 September 2014

Lovely short break

5 / 5 stars

Just spent 3 lovely days here. All the staff and owners were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was excellent and although the dinner menu did not include a vegetarian option the kitchen happily provided a lovely veggie meal on both evenings. Room was small (single room) but very comfortable and clean. Both room and dinner were very competitively priced.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel for a few quiet nights.

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
17 September 2014

Beautiful place on the loch

5 / 5 stars

Delicious food, nice place to lounge!
Stayed at this hotel with my wife and her parents. The drive to get there from Applecross was beautiful Took the Bealach na Ba Road through the mountains to Applecross then the Coastal road back). Nice place with history, Quiet, beautiful, nice owners, awesome food.

London, United Kingdom
13 September 2014

Wonderful Place

5 / 5 stars

Located on the edge of a lake and surrounded by beautiful nature, is housed in a beautiful historic cottage.
The rooms are large and spacious, the staff is friendly and all the services are excellent. Great breakfast! I would also report his restaurant: very good foods and refined preparation of traditional Scottish food.
Finally, from there you can move to many interesting destinations.

Rome, Italy
8 September 2014

Last Minute Stay

5 / 5 stars

We stopped here as last minute guests, not having booked. The weather had been terrible and we were both tired with driving and asked if they had a room for the evening.
“WOW” is all I can say from start to finish. The owners where fantastic and very accommodating and welcoming hosts!

The hotel is immaculate, warm and very comfortable. And add the quality of the food and you have a fantastic combination!

We will certainly go back although will make sure we book as this is a busy little hotel and wouldn’t want to be disappointed by not getting a room. : )

19 August 2014


5 / 5 stars

We stayed in the log cabin last week. What a peaceful and restful visit we had. Cabin was comfortable and the management were really nice and helpful. Bed was very comfy too. Kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need. Had some lovely walks round the loch which our wee dog thoroughly enjoyed. Don’t miss the Victoria Falls. Quite spectacular and unexpected! Enjoyed the views and just chilling out – watching the fantastic huge TV. We will be back!

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
6 August 2014